A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Apex Trader Funding Intraday Trail $50K vs Trade Day Quick Pay Intraday $50K
Current public evidence favors Trade Day for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Expected value is a comparison estimate here, not outcome truth; it uses scenario assumptions and should not be read as an empirical outcome prediction.
Trade Day is $42 cheaper to get started. Apex Trader Funding charges $25 one-time plus a $79 activation fee. Trade Day charges $62/mo (monthly subscription).
Apex Trader Funding uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4%, while Trade Day uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Lock behavior differs: Apex Trader Funding — trails indefinitely, while Trade Day — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Apex Trader Funding: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time. Trade Day: Missing public evidence: Evidence Freshness, Selected Economic Product. Apex Trader Funding's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Trade Day requires your best day to be no more than 30% of total profit.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Apex Trader Funding requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal — at 20 trading days per month, that works out to roughly 4 payouts per month. Trade Day's minimum profitable days requirement between withdrawals is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Trade Day's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum of $200 daily profit for a day to count toward payout eligibility. Trade Day's qualifying day minimum is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Trade Day's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires at least $52,100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Trade Day's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding caps funded accounts at 6 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Trade Day's maximum payout count is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a $2,100 safety net buffer before your first payout — you must earn above starting balance plus this amount. Trade Day's safety net requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding caps each withdrawal at $3,000 per request. Trade Day's per-request cap is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding has an account closure trigger: total_payouts: 6. Trade Day's account closure trigger is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding is more flexible overall. News trading: Apex Trader Funding allows it while Trade Day restricts it. Copy trading: allowed at Trade Day but restricted at Apex Trader Funding. Both require flat-by deadlines: Apex Trader Funding at 4:59 PM ET, Trade Day at 5:30 PM CT.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $19.9 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading OK · No consistency rule
News trading allowed · Only 5 min trading days
Starting at $62 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Trade Day is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Apex Trader Funding reaches break-even on day 11 while Trade Day reaches it on day 10. Apex Trader Funding costs $114 less to get started. Trade Day projects $8,719/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Apex Trader Funding if you want:
Choose Trade Day if you want:
Overall, Apex Trader Funding scores higher (68 vs 60) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: fewer trading restrictions, more lenient consistency rules. That said, Trade Day wins on lower starting cost, more forgiving drawdown rules, no account closure limit. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Apex Trader Funding or Trade Day with another firm? See all comparisons