A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Apex Trader Funding Intraday Trail $50K vs Take Profit Trader $50K
Current public evidence favors Take Profit Trader for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Apex Trader Funding is $128 cheaper to get started. Apex Trader Funding charges $25 one-time plus a $79 activation fee. Take Profit Trader charges $102/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $130 activation fee.
Apex Trader Funding uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4%, while Take Profit Trader uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Apex Trader Funding uses intraday trailing, the strictest type — your floor moves in real time with every tick of profit. Take Profit Trader's EOD trailing only adjusts at market close, giving intraday profits a safer cushion. Lock behavior differs: Apex Trader Funding — trails indefinitely, while Take Profit Trader — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit. Take Profit Trader also has a $1,100 daily loss limit, while Apex Trader Funding's daily loss limit is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Apex Trader Funding: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time. Take Profit Trader: Missing public evidence: Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Min Payout Amount, Selected Economic Product. Apex Trader Funding's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Take Profit Trader requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Apex Trader Funding offers up to 100% profit split(Weekly payouts, $500 min), while Take Profit Trader offers up to 80%(Daily payouts). The 20 percentage point difference in profit split can add up significantly over time — on a $10,000 profit, that's $2,000 more in your pocket.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Apex Trader Funding requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal — at 20 trading days per month, that works out to roughly 4 payouts per month. Take Profit Trader's minimum profitable days requirement between withdrawals is not stated.
Take Profit Trader requires clearing a buffer zone before your first payout — you must earn above your starting balance plus the drawdown amount before any withdrawal is allowed. Apex Trader Funding has no buffer requirement, meaning payouts are available from day one.
Apex Trader Funding requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Take Profit Trader's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum of $200 daily profit for a day to count toward payout eligibility. Take Profit Trader's qualifying day minimum is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Take Profit Trader's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires at least $52,100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Take Profit Trader's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding caps funded accounts at 6 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Take Profit Trader's maximum payout count is not stated.
Both firms require a safety net before payouts: Apex Trader Funding at $2,100 and Take Profit Trader at $2,000. You must build this buffer above your starting balance before requesting your first withdrawal.
Take Profit Trader's buffer never clears — withdrawals from the buffer zone earn a reduced 50%/50% split permanently.
Apex Trader Funding caps each withdrawal at $3,000 per request. Take Profit Trader's per-request cap is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding has an account closure trigger: total_payouts: 6. Take Profit Trader's account closure trigger is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding is more flexible overall. News trading: Apex Trader Funding allows it while Take Profit Trader restricts it. Both require flat-by deadlines: Apex Trader Funding at 4:59 PM ET, Take Profit Trader at 5:00 PM ET.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $19.9 · One-time fee (no subscription)
Only 5 min trading days · EOD trailing (intraday profits safe)
Both firms work well for day traders. Apex Trader Funding is a stronger fit for budget traders (starting at $19.9). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Apex Trader Funding reaches break-even on day 11 while Take Profit Trader reaches it on day 12. Apex Trader Funding costs $128 less to get started. Take Profit Trader projects $6,742/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Apex Trader Funding if you want:
Choose Take Profit Trader if you want:
Overall, Apex Trader Funding scores higher (68 vs 56) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: lower starting cost, better profit split, fewer trading restrictions. That said, Take Profit Trader wins on more forgiving drawdown rules, no account closure limit. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Apex Trader Funding or Take Profit Trader with another firm? See all comparisons