A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: E8 Markets E8 Signature $50K vs Topstep $50K
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Required model inputs are unavailable from ordinary public material, so this output should not be used for ranking or scenario decisions.
Starting costs are not ranked because an activation fee is unknown. E8 Markets charges $150 one-time. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
E8 Markets uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while E8 Markets's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. E8 Markets: Missing public evidence: Selected Economic Product. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Selected Economic Product. E8 Markets's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Topstep requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. E8 Markets requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means E8 Markets can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
E8 Markets requires clearing a buffer zone before your first payout — you must earn above your starting balance plus the drawdown amount before any withdrawal is allowed. Topstep has no buffer requirement, meaning payouts are available from day one.
Topstep requires 5 trading days between payout requests. E8 Markets's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, E8 Markets requires at least $150 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150.
E8 Markets caps any single trading day at 35% of your payout cycle's total profit — designed to encourage consistent performance rather than one-hit profits. Topstep's best-day cap is not stated.
Topstep limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. E8 Markets's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
E8 Markets requires a $2,000 safety net buffer before your first payout — you must earn above starting balance plus this amount. Topstep's safety net requirement is not stated.
Topstep caps each withdrawal at $2,000 per request. E8 Markets's per-request cap is not stated.
Topstep is more flexible overall. Automation: Topstep allows bots and algo trading while E8 Markets prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers and budget traders (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
E8 Markets: activation fee unknown (unknown_activation_fee): the cost total is incomplete until the fee is known. E8 Markets projects $4,250/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Topstep if you want:
Overall, Topstep scores higher (68 vs 50) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: fewer trading restrictions, more lenient consistency rules. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing E8 Markets or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons