A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Apex Trader Funding Intraday Trail $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Apex Trader Funding is $94 cheaper to get started. Apex Trader Funding charges $25 one-time plus a $79 activation fee. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
Apex Trader Funding uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4%, while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Apex Trader Funding uses intraday trailing, the strictest type — your floor moves in real time with every tick of profit. Topstep's EOD trailing only adjusts at market close, giving intraday profits a safer cushion. Lock behavior differs: Apex Trader Funding — trails indefinitely, while Topstep — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit. Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while Apex Trader Funding's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Apex Trader Funding: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls. Apex Trader Funding's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Topstep requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Apex Trader Funding requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Apex Trader Funding can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
Between payouts, Apex Trader Funding requires 5 trading days before your next request, while Topstep requires 5 trading days.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Apex Trader Funding requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150. The lower bar at Topstep is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
Topstep limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. Apex Trader Funding's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Topstep's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires at least $52,100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Topstep's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding caps funded accounts at 6 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Topstep's maximum payout count is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a $2,100 safety net buffer before your first payout — you must earn above starting balance plus this amount. Topstep's safety net requirement is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Apex Trader Funding caps at $3,000, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Apex Trader Funding has an account closure trigger: total_payouts: 6. Topstep's account closure trigger is not stated.
Topstep is more flexible overall. Automation: Topstep allows bots and algo trading while Apex Trader Funding prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders. Copy trading: allowed at Topstep but restricted at Apex Trader Funding. Both require flat-by deadlines: Apex Trader Funding at 4:59 PM ET, Topstep at 3:10 PM CT.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $19.9 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Apex Trader Funding reaches break-even on day 11 while Topstep reaches it on day 12. Apex Trader Funding costs $94 less to get started. Topstep projects $3,875/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Apex Trader Funding if you want:
Choose Topstep if you want:
Both firms score 68 on our trader-friendliness index — the right choice depends on which tradeoffs matter most to your strategy. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Apex Trader Funding or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons