A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Lucid Trading LucidFlex $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Starting costs are not ranked because an activation fee is unknown. Lucid Trading charges $140 one-time. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
Lucid Trading uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Lock behavior differs: Lucid Trading — locks at $50,100 after $2,100 profit, while Topstep — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit. Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while Lucid Trading's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Lucid Trading: Missing public evidence: Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Lucid Trading requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Lucid Trading can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
Topstep requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Lucid Trading's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Lucid Trading requires at least $150 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150.
Lucid Trading limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, while Topstep limits to 50%. This means some profit stays in the account as a safety buffer.
Lucid Trading caps funded accounts at 5 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Topstep's maximum payout count is not stated.
Lucid Trading requires a $2,000 safety net buffer before your first payout — you must earn above starting balance plus this amount. Topstep's safety net requirement is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Lucid Trading caps at $2,000, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Both firms have similar trading restrictions. Both require flat-by deadlines: Lucid Trading at 4:45 PM EST, Topstep at 3:10 PM CT.
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $100 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and scalpers and budget traders. Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
Lucid Trading: activation fee unknown (unknown_activation_fee): the cost total is incomplete until the fee is known. Lucid Trading projects $2,488/mo more in funded earnings.
Overall, Topstep scores higher (68 vs 61) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: no inactivity limit. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Lucid Trading or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons