A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Funded Futures Network Standard MAX $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Topstep is $2 cheaper to get started. Funded Futures Network charges $80/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $120 activation fee. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee. Funded Futures Network currently has an active promotion which may further reduce cost.
Funded Futures Network has a soft daily loss limit breach type. Topstep's breach type is not stated.
Funded Futures Network uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Funded Futures Network also has a $1,250 daily loss limit, while Topstep's daily loss limit is not stated. Both have soft daily loss limits, but they differ: Funded Futures Network uses pause until next session, while Topstep uses pause until next day.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Funded Futures Network: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Payout Amount, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Payout Processing Time, Selected Economic Product. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls. Consistency rules also affect pacing: Funded Futures Network caps your best day at 40% of total profit, while Topstep caps at 50% — a tighter rule means you may need more trading days in practice.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Funded Futures Network's minimum profitable days requirement between withdrawals is not stated. Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal — at 20 trading days per month, that works out to roughly 4 payouts per month.
Topstep requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Funded Futures Network's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
Topstep requires a minimum of $150 daily profit for a day to count toward payout eligibility. Funded Futures Network's qualifying day minimum is not stated.
Funded Futures Network caps any single trading day at 40% of your payout cycle's total profit — designed to encourage consistent performance rather than one-hit profits. Topstep's best-day cap is not stated.
Topstep limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. Funded Futures Network's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
Funded Futures Network requires a minimum account balance of $52,500 before you can request a payout. Topstep's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Funded Futures Network caps at $10,000, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Funded Futures Network applies a Adjusts Excess consistency penalty when a single oversized day dominates profits. Topstep's consistency penalty is not stated.
The public trading restrictions are not complete enough to rank the two firms. Topstep requires you to be flat by 3:10 PM CT, while Funded Futures Network's flat-by requirement is not stated.
News trading allowed · Only 5 min trading days
Starting at $63 · No activation fee
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Funded Futures Network reaches break-even on day 13 while Topstep reaches it on day 12. Topstep costs $128 less to get started. Funded Futures Network projects $1,027/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Topstep if you want:
Overall scores are unavailable because trading restrictions are not fully stated. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Funded Futures Network or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons