A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: FundedNext Futures Rapid $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Starting costs are not ranked because an activation fee is unknown. FundedNext Futures charges $200 one-time. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
FundedNext Futures uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while FundedNext Futures's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. FundedNext Futures: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Selected Economic Product. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls. FundedNext Futures's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Topstep requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. FundedNext Futures requires 3 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means FundedNext Futures can request roughly 6 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
Between payouts, FundedNext Futures requires 3 trading days before your next request, while Topstep requires 5 trading days. The shorter gap at FundedNext Futures means more frequent withdrawal opportunities.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, FundedNext Futures requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150. The lower bar at Topstep is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
FundedNext Futures caps any single trading day at 40% of your payout cycle's total profit — designed to encourage consistent performance rather than one-hit profits. Topstep's best-day cap is not stated.
Topstep limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. FundedNext Futures's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
FundedNext Futures caps funded accounts at 5 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Topstep's maximum payout count is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: FundedNext Futures caps at $1,500, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Topstep is more flexible overall. Copy trading: allowed at Topstep but restricted at FundedNext Futures.
News trading allowed · EOD trailing (intraday profits safe)
Starting at $79.99 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
FundedNext Futures: activation fee unknown (unknown_activation_fee): the cost total is incomplete until the fee is known. Topstep projects $4,518/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Topstep if you want:
Overall, Topstep scores higher (68 vs 54) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: fewer trading restrictions, no inactivity limit, more lenient consistency rules. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing FundedNext Futures or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons