A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Alpha Futures Premium $50K vs Apex Trader Funding Intraday Trail $50K
Current public evidence favors Alpha Futures for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Apex Trader Funding is $124 cheaper to get started. Alpha Futures charges $79/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee. Apex Trader Funding charges $25 one-time plus a $79 activation fee.
Alpha Futures uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Apex Trader Funding uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4%. Apex Trader Funding uses intraday trailing, the strictest type — your floor moves in real time with every tick of profit. Alpha Futures's EOD trailing only adjusts at market close, giving intraday profits a safer cushion. Lock behavior differs: Alpha Futures — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit, while Apex Trader Funding — trails indefinitely.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Alpha Futures: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Payout Amount, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Payout Processing Time, Selected Economic Product. Apex Trader Funding: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time. Apex Trader Funding's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Alpha Futures requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Alpha Futures offers up to 90% profit split(On Demand payouts, $500 min), while Apex Trader Funding offers up to 100%(Weekly payouts, $500 min). The 10 percentage point difference in profit split can add up significantly over time — on a $10,000 profit, that's $1,000 more in your pocket.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Alpha Futures requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Apex Trader Funding requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Alpha Futures can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Apex Trader Funding's 4.
Alpha Futures transitions funded accounts to live trading after +$40K payable balance or 5 payouts per account; Alpha may move the trader to LIVE earlier after review. On live accounts, payout caps may lift and split percentages can change. Apex Trader Funding's sim-to-live transition is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Alpha Futures's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Alpha Futures requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Apex Trader Funding requires $200.
Alpha Futures limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. Apex Trader Funding's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Alpha Futures's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires at least $52,100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Alpha Futures's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding caps funded accounts at 6 payouts before requiring a transition to a live account. Alpha Futures's maximum payout count is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a $2,100 safety net buffer before your first payout. Alpha Futures's safety net requirement is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Alpha Futures caps at $6,000, while Apex Trader Funding caps at $3,000.
Apex Trader Funding has an account closure trigger: total_payouts: 6. Alpha Futures's account closure trigger is not stated.
Alpha Futures is more flexible overall. Copy trading: allowed at Alpha Futures but restricted at Apex Trader Funding. Both require flat-by deadlines: Alpha Futures at 4:20 PM ET, Apex Trader Funding at 4:59 PM ET.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $79 · No activation fee
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $19.9 · One-time fee (no subscription)
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Alpha Futures reaches break-even on day 12 while Apex Trader Funding reaches it on day 11. Apex Trader Funding costs $124 less to get started. Alpha Futures projects $3,375/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Alpha Futures if you want:
Choose Apex Trader Funding if you want:
Overall, Apex Trader Funding scores higher (68 vs 67) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: lower starting cost, better profit split, no inactivity limit, more lenient consistency rules. That said, Alpha Futures wins on more forgiving drawdown rules, fewer trading restrictions, no account closure limit. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Alpha Futures or Apex Trader Funding with another firm? See all comparisons