A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Alpha Futures Premium $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Topstep is $30 cheaper to get started. Alpha Futures charges $79/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
Alpha Futures uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while Alpha Futures's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Alpha Futures: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Payout Amount, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Payout Processing Time, Selected Economic Product. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Alpha Futures requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Alpha Futures can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
Alpha Futures transitions funded accounts to live trading after +$40K payable balance or 5 payouts per account; Alpha may move the trader to LIVE earlier after review. On live accounts, payout caps may lift and split percentages can change. Topstep's sim-to-live transition is not stated.
Topstep requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Alpha Futures's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Alpha Futures requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150. The lower bar at Topstep is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
Alpha Futures limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, while Topstep limits to 50%. This means some profit stays in the account as a safety buffer.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Alpha Futures caps at $6,000, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Topstep is more flexible overall. Automation: Topstep allows bots and algo trading while Alpha Futures prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders. Both require flat-by deadlines: Alpha Futures at 4:20 PM ET, Topstep at 3:10 PM CT.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $79 · No activation fee
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Alpha Futures reaches break-even on day 12 while Topstep reaches it on day 12. Topstep costs $30 less to get started. Topstep projects $500/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Topstep if you want:
Overall, Topstep scores higher (68 vs 67) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: lower starting cost, fewer trading restrictions, no inactivity limit, more lenient consistency rules. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Alpha Futures or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons