A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: DayTraders Full $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
DayTraders is $30 cheaper to get started. DayTraders charges $38 one-time plus a $130 activation fee. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
DayTraders uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 5% ($2,500 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). DayTraders uses intraday trailing, the strictest type — your floor moves in real time with every tick of profit. Topstep's EOD trailing only adjusts at market close, giving intraday profits a safer cushion. Lock behavior differs: DayTraders — locks at $50,000 after $2,500 profit, while Topstep — locks at $50,000 after $2,000 profit. Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while DayTraders's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. DayTraders: Missing public evidence: Field Evidence Ledger, PublicSourceUrls. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. DayTraders requires 8 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means DayTraders can request roughly 2 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
DayTraders requires clearing a buffer zone before your first payout — you must earn above your starting balance plus the drawdown amount before any withdrawal is allowed. Topstep has no buffer requirement, meaning payouts are available from day one.
Between payouts, DayTraders requires 8 trading days before your next request, while Topstep requires 5 trading days. The shorter gap at Topstep means more frequent withdrawal opportunities.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, DayTraders requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150. The lower bar at Topstep is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
Topstep limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. DayTraders's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
DayTraders requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Topstep's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
DayTraders requires at least $52,000 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Topstep's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Maximum per withdrawal request: DayTraders caps at $2,000, while Topstep caps at $2,000.
Both firms have similar trading restrictions. Automation: Topstep allows bots and algo trading while DayTraders prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders. Overnight holding: DayTraders allows it while Topstep does not — important for swing traders. Copy trading: allowed at Topstep but restricted at DayTraders. Topstep requires you to be flat by 3:10 PM CT, while DayTraders's flat-by requirement is not stated.
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
Starting at $22.5 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Topstep is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, DayTraders reaches break-even on day 12 while Topstep reaches it on day 12. DayTraders costs $30 less to get started. Topstep projects $1,000/mo more in funded earnings.
Overall scores are unavailable because trading restrictions are not fully stated. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing DayTraders or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons