A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Apex Trader Funding Intraday Trail $50K vs Lucid Trading LucidFlex $50K
Current public evidence favors Lucid Trading for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Starting costs are not ranked because an activation fee is unknown. Apex Trader Funding charges $25 one-time plus a $79 activation fee. Lucid Trading charges $140 one-time.
Apex Trader Funding uses Intraday Trailing drawdown at 4%, while Lucid Trading uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Apex Trader Funding uses intraday trailing, the strictest type — your floor moves in real time with every tick of profit. Lucid Trading's EOD trailing only adjusts at market close, giving intraday profits a safer cushion. Lock behavior differs: Apex Trader Funding — trails indefinitely, while Lucid Trading — locks at $50,100 after $2,100 profit.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Apex Trader Funding: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Buffer Clearance Required, Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time. Lucid Trading: Missing public evidence: Fee Monthly|Fee Onetime, Field Evidence Ledger. Apex Trader Funding's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Lucid Trading requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Apex Trader Funding offers up to 100% profit split(Weekly payouts, $500 min), while Lucid Trading offers up to 90%(On Demand payouts, $500 min). The 10 percentage point difference in profit split can add up significantly over time — on a $10,000 profit, that's $1,000 more in your pocket.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Apex Trader Funding requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Lucid Trading requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Apex Trader Funding can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Lucid Trading's 4.
Apex Trader Funding requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Lucid Trading's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Apex Trader Funding requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Lucid Trading requires $150. The lower bar at Lucid Trading is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
Lucid Trading limits each payout to 50% of accumulated profit, keeping the remainder as an account buffer. Apex Trader Funding's percentage-of-profit cap on payouts is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires a minimum account balance of $52,600 before you can request a payout. Lucid Trading's minimum balance requirement is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding requires at least $52,100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Lucid Trading's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Apex Trader Funding allows a maximum of 6 payouts before transitioning to a live account, while Lucid Trading allows 5. After reaching the cap, payout restrictions typically relax on the live account.
Both firms require a safety net before payouts: Apex Trader Funding at $2,100 and Lucid Trading at $2,000. You must build this buffer above your starting balance before requesting your first withdrawal.
Maximum per withdrawal request: Apex Trader Funding caps at $3,000, while Lucid Trading caps at $2,000.
Apex Trader Funding has an account closure trigger: total_payouts: 6. Lucid Trading's account closure trigger is not stated.
Lucid Trading is more flexible overall. Automation: Lucid Trading allows bots and algo trading while Apex Trader Funding prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders. Copy trading: allowed at Lucid Trading but restricted at Apex Trader Funding. Both require flat-by deadlines: Apex Trader Funding at 4:59 PM ET, Lucid Trading at 4:45 PM EST.
News trading allowed · Only 1 min trading day
Starting at $19.9 · One-time fee (no subscription)
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $100 · One-time fee (no subscription)
Both firms work well for day traders and budget traders. Lucid Trading is a stronger fit for scalpers (news trading OK). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
Lucid Trading: activation fee unknown (unknown_activation_fee): the cost total is incomplete until the fee is known. Lucid Trading projects $6,363/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Apex Trader Funding if you want:
Choose Lucid Trading if you want:
Overall, Apex Trader Funding scores higher (68 vs 61) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: better profit split, no inactivity limit. That said, Lucid Trading wins on more forgiving drawdown rules, fewer trading restrictions, no account closure limit. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Apex Trader Funding or Lucid Trading with another firm? See all comparisons