A detailed breakdown of how these two firms compare across costs, drawdown rules, payout structure, and trading restrictions.
Plans compared: Purdia Capital EOD $50K vs Topstep $50K
Current public evidence favors Topstep for the balanced model.
This public economics comparison uses ordinary public product/help/rule material and values derived from it. Some model inputs are visible in ordinary public material, but one or more public fields are missing or unavailable.
Topstep is $111 cheaper to get started. Purdia Capital charges $179/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $130 activation fee. Topstep charges $49/mo (monthly subscription) plus a $149 activation fee.
Purdia Capital has a soft daily loss limit breach type. Topstep's breach type is not stated.
Purdia Capital uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial), while Topstep uses EOD Trailing drawdown at 4% ($2,000 buffer once locked at initial). Purdia Capital also has a $1,000 daily loss limit, while Topstep's daily loss limit is not stated. Topstep's daily loss limit is a soft mechanism (pause until next day), while Purdia Capital's daily pause behavior is not stated.
No timing winner is declared until both selected paths have formula-ready public evidence. Purdia Capital: Missing public evidence: Activation Fee, Field Evidence Ledger, Funded Monthly Fee, Max Payout Per Request, Min Payout Amount. Topstep: Missing public evidence: Buffer Clearance Required, Min Profitable Days Before Payout, Min Trading Days, Payout Processing Time, PublicSourceUrls. Purdia Capital's single-day consistency cap is not stated. Topstep requires your best day to be no more than 50% of total profit.
Payout details vary by tier. Check individual firm pages for full breakdown.
When comparing withdrawal frequency, the gap between payouts matters. Purdia Capital requires 5 profitable trading days between each withdrawal, while Topstep requires 5 profitable trading days. At 20 trading days per month, that means Purdia Capital can request roughly 4 payouts per month versus Topstep's 4.
Purdia Capital requires clearing a buffer zone before your first payout — you must earn above your starting balance plus the drawdown amount before any withdrawal is allowed. Topstep has no buffer requirement, meaning payouts are available from day one.
Purdia Capital transitions funded accounts to live trading after Meet SFA requirements (10 minimum trading days and 5 profitable days) -> Temp Sim Funded Account with $10,000 total profit cap -> Live Funded Account.. On live accounts, payout caps may lift and split percentages can change. Topstep's sim-to-live transition is not stated.
Topstep requires 5 trading days between payout requests. Purdia Capital's minimum trading day gap between payouts is not stated.
To count as a qualifying day toward payouts, Purdia Capital requires at least $200 in daily profit, while Topstep requires $150. The lower bar at Topstep is easier to meet on choppy trading days.
Purdia Capital limits each payout to 100% of accumulated profit, while Topstep limits to 50%. This means some profit stays in the account as a safety buffer.
Purdia Capital requires at least $100 to remain in the account after each withdrawal, limiting how much you can take out at once. Topstep's post-withdrawal balance floor is not stated.
Topstep caps each withdrawal at $2,000 per request. Purdia Capital's per-request cap is not stated.
Purdia Capital has an account closure trigger: withdrawal_pct_of_profits: 100. Topstep's account closure trigger is not stated.
Topstep is more flexible overall. Automation: Topstep allows bots and algo trading while Purdia Capital prohibits it — a critical difference for systematic traders. Both require flat-by deadlines: Purdia Capital at 3:45 PM CT, Topstep at 3:10 PM CT.
News trading allowed · Only 5 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
News trading allowed · Only 2 min trading days
News trading OK · No consistency rule
Starting at $49 · No activation fee
Both firms work well for day traders and scalpers. Topstep is a stronger fit for budget traders (starting at $49). Explore all trading styles to see which firms match your approach.
Based on $500/day profit, 20 trading days/month, 55% win rate
At $500/day profit, Purdia Capital reaches break-even on day 12 while Topstep reaches it on day 12. Topstep costs $111 less to get started. Purdia Capital projects $4,000/mo more in funded earnings.
Choose Purdia Capital if you want:
Choose Topstep if you want:
Overall, Topstep scores higher (68 vs 64) on our trader-friendliness index. Key advantages: lower starting cost, more forgiving drawdown rules, fewer trading restrictions, no account closure limit. That said, Purdia Capital wins on more lenient consistency rules. See the full glossary to understand any unfamiliar terms, or explore trading styles to find the best firm for your approach.
Comparing Purdia Capital or Topstep with another firm? See all comparisons